Pasadena ISD Communications Office Wins 8 Top State Awards

Pasadena ISD Communications Office Wins 8 Top State Awards
Posted on 03/04/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Pasadena ISD Communications Office Wins 8 Top State Awards

TSPRA Star Awards
The Pasadena ISD Communications and Printing Office wins eight state awards.

The Pasadena ISD Communications – Print Shop Team has earned eight prestigious 2016 Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) Star Awards for excellence in school communications. The awards were announced Feb. 24 at the association’s annual conference in Horseshoe Bay.

This year, communications and printing earned three gold, three silver and two bronze awards out of about 1,000 entries.

The Communication Department, which involves creative writing, graphic design and video production, works collaboratively with The Print Shop to develop various items including newspaper articles, photos, district programs, flyers, handbooks, posters and a host of other materials.

This relatively small team promotes district accomplishments and celebrations of those accomplishments with civic and business communities.

Communication Coordinator Bruce Stone received two gold awards for designing the aviator logo for Roberts Middle and the McDonald’s Texas Invitational Basketball Tournament poster.

Graphic Designer Jade Wise won a gold award for a brochure with facts and figures about the Pasadena ISD. Wise won three silver awards for designing the Athletics Hall of Fame program, a community partnership booklet and the Education Foundation brochure. He also won a bronze award for designing the Vanguard Community Service program.

Multimedia Specialist Robert Smith was honored with one bronze award in the General Interest and Feature Story category for a video he produced entitled, “OMEGA Vending Machine Business Grant.”

“This team of communication professionals dedicate countless hours to showcase the accomplishments of students and staff in the district,” Dr. DeeAnn Powell, Pasadena ISD school superintendent said. “It brings me great joy to know they are receiving recognition at the state level for all the work they do in support of our kids. Congratulations.”

Pasadena ISD 2016 Communications Awards:

Gold Star: Logo, Trademark and Symbol

  • Roberts Middle School Aviators – Bruce Stone

Gold Star: Poster

  • Texas Invitational Basketball Tournament – Bruce Stone

Gold Star: Brochure

  • School District Facts and Figures – Jade Wise

Silver Star: Booklet

  • Athletics Hall of Fame Program – Jade Wise
  • Community Partner Booklet – Jade Wise

Silver Star: Brochure

  • Education Foundation Brochure – Jade Wise

Bronze Star: Booklet

  • Vanguard Community Service Program – Jade Wise

Bronze Star: Video and General Interest Feature Story

  • OMEGA Vending Machine Business Grant – Robert Smith

The Texas School Public Relations Association is a professional non-profit organization dedicated to promoting public schools through effective communications. TSPRA, an award winning chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), was chartered in 1962 and incorporated in 1977. With more than 850 members, TSPRA is comprised primarily of public information and communications professionals who serve the public school districts and education organizations of Texas.

The membership also includes superintendents, administrators, principals, web/technology/electronic media and graphic professionals, education foundation executive directors and their boards, association executive directors, school consultants, vendors and others who support public education in the state.

The organization provides professional development, resources and networking opportunities for members and others in the education community.

Each year, the association recognizes communicators in school districts, education foundations and educational organizations throughout the State of Texas for outstanding work in both print and electronic media. Winning entries were honored with Silver, Gold or Bronze Star awards.