Pasadena ISD Police Department Holds Swearing-In Ceremony

Pasadena ISD Police Department Holds Swearing-In Ceremony
Posted on 01/04/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Pasadena ISD Police Department Holds Swearing-In CeremonyPolice Swearing-In
The Pasadena ISD Police Department swears in Brandy Waterman, Jessica Cano and promotes Jason Grice to sergeant.

Police Swearing-InSam Rayburn principal Robert Stock shows support for new sworn-in officer Jessica Cano, a Rayburn graduate.
Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees, administrators, family and fellow law enforcement gathered, Monday, Jan. 4, to celebrate the promotion of one police officer and the swearing in of two.

Jason Grice was promoted to the rank of sergeant, Jessica Cano and Brandy Waterman were sworn in as new police officers. The new class members join about 40 police officers throughout Pasadena ISD who help maintain a safe environment for students and staff.

Each officer took an oath in front of the crowd symbolizing their commitment to protect the well-being and safety of Pasadena ISD students and members of the surrounding community.   

Grice joined the Pasadena ISD Police Department in 2002 after receiving his basic certification from the Alvin Community College. He has a background in private investigations and served as a law clerk and a K-9 handler for the district. 

Cano is a product of Pasadena ISD schools. She attended Morales Elementary, De Zavala Middle School, Southmore Intermediate and graduated from Sam Rayburn High School in 2012. Cano attended San Jacinto College and later the College of the Mainland Police Academy for her certification.

Waterman served the Baytown Police Department for 14 years as a detention officer for 10 of those years and spent her last few years there as an administrative assistant. She graduated from the University of Houston Police Academy in August 2015. 

Police Swearing-In
Chief Stewart Russell swears in officers Brandy Waterman and Jessica Cano.

Police Swearing-In
District Board of Trustees, administrators and fellow law enforcement gathered for the ceremony. Pictured from left to right: Board of Trustee members Nelda Sullivan and Marshall Kendrick; Officer Brandy Waterman; Chief Stewart Russell; Officer Jessica Cano; Sergeant Jason Grice and Acting Superintendent DeeAnn Powell.