Nominations Sought for Pasadena ISD Distinguished Citizen

Nominations Sought for Pasadena ISD Distinguished Citizen
Posted on 07/24/2014

Pasadena ISD is accepting nominations for the Pasadena ISD's Distinguished Citizen Award for 2014. The award is given annually to a local resident or business person who has demonstrated a strong commitment to the causes of education and youth-related activities in communities served by the Pasadena ISD.

Nominees must demonstrate a commitment to the educational, social, spiritual and personal growth of the young people of our community through volunteer efforts in Pasadena schools or any youth-related organization. They must also live or work within the boundaries of the school district.

The Distinguished Citizen Award will be presented at a special reception in the fall. A bronze plaque will be dedicated at the reception and placed at the front entrance to the Administration Building.

Those wishing to submit a nomination should return a completed form along with any supporting documentation such as newspaper clippings or resumes, by August 11.

A nomination form can be accessed through the following website:

Forms can also be obtained by calling 713-740-0186.

Nominations may be submitted to Cynthia Gutierrez, Superintendent’s Office, for Communications and Community Relations, Pasadena ISD, 1515 Cherrybrook, Pasadena, TX 77502. For additional information, call 713-740-0247.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Citizen Award are:

1995 -- Faye Schimek

1996 -- Kathryn Whitfill

1997 -- Kathleen Morris

1998 -- John Phelps

1999 -- Denise Converse

2000 -- Gilbert Aguilar

2001 -- Eddie Dansby

2002 -- Judy & Russell Lamontagne

2003 -- Dr. Paul Covell

2004 -- Rosalie Kuntz

2005 -- Emory Gadd

2006 -- Charles Davis

2007-- Herman Williams

2008 -- Carroll Smith

2009 -- Terry Brotherton

2010 – Bill Barmore

2011 – Dana Philibert

2012 – Linda Lukaszewski

2013 – Melvin Cowart