Pasadena ISD recognizes FFA members at annual awards banquet

Pasadena ISD recognizes FFA members at annual awards banquet
Posted on 05/08/2019
Pasadena ISD recognizes FFA members at annual awards banquet

FFA Banquet
Dobie FFA students Victoria Aranda and Taylor Miles show off their scholarship awards at the FFA Banquet. 

Pasadena ISD FFA members and community leaders were recognized, May 2, during the district’s third annual FFA banquet at the Pasadena Convention Center.

It was an emotional night for many FFA members in attendance as it concluded their time with the organization.

“For many of our members, especially the seniors, our FFA chapters feel like home and graduation means leaving the comfort of home. But FFA means family and these students will always be family,” said Johnna Mikolajchak, CTE agriculture teacher.

The event attracted over 400 attendees, including FFA members, sponsors, supporters of FFA chapters districtwide, PISD School Board members, district and campus administrators. An auction was held throughout the course of the event that raised approximately $1,500 for PISD FFA chapters.

The banquet featured several heart-warming speeches by retiring seniors. Awards were presented to chapter members and supporters of the program. Before the close of the event, multiple scholarships were presented on behalf of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, totaling 3,500,  along with a check to Taylor Miles, Dobie FFA for $700 on behalf of  Austin J. Childs Memorial.

“We are immensely proud of our FFA members,” Mikolajchak said. “They are exceptional young people that are becoming our leaders of tomorrow right before our eyes and it is a blessing to be part of their journey.”

Here are the honorees:

Outstanding Greenhand Award Winners
Aryana Diaz – Pasadena FFA
Marissa Whitehead  - Sam Rayburn FFA
Gerardo Solis – Dobie FFA
Tiffany Messina – Pasadena Memorial FFA

Outstanding Chapter Member Award Winners
Daniel Esquivel – Pasadena FFA
Melanie Carrera – Sam Rayburn FFA
Justin Esquivel – Dobie FFA
Kyleigh Hathhorn – Pasadena Memorial FFA

Top Hand Award Winners
Daniel Gallardo – Pasadena FFA
Jade Britt – Sam Rayburn FFA
Samantha Carter – Dobie FFA
Payton Beard – Pasadena Memorial

Honorary Membership Award Winners
Ms. Sally Campbell – Pasadena FFA
Mr. Ricky Perez – Sam Rayburn FFA
Mr. Greg McNeil and Ms. Tiffany Wallace – Dobie FFA

Pasadena Livestock Show and Rodeo Scholarships
Victoria Aranda, Dobie FFA in the amount of $800
Taylor Miles, Dobie FFA in the amount of $1,000
Hilario Campos, Pasadena FFA in the amount of $500
Evelyn Esquivel, Pasadena FFA in the amount of $1,200

Austin J. Childs Memorial Scholarship
Taylor Miles, Dobie FFA in the amount of $700

 For all the photos, click here!