Eagles' Morgado, Texans' Perales Named Hall of Fame Scholarship Recipients

Eagles' Morgado, Texans' Perales Named Hall of Fame Scholarship Recipients
Posted on 03/29/2014
This is the image for the news article titled Eagles' Morgado, Texans' Perales Named Hall of Fame Scholarship Recipients0952
Hall of Fame scholarship recipients Jose Perales (top) and Emely Morgado.
emelyPasadena High distance runner Emely Morgado and Sam Rayburn High football player Jose Perales have been named the recipients of scholarship awards from the Pasadena ISD Athletics Hall of Fame.

The senior student-athletes will be honored at the Hall of Fame induction banquet on April 12 at Phillips Fieldhouse.

Each will receive a $2,000 scholarship funded by proceeds from the Athletics Hall of Fame banquet, now in its third year.

Only about two dozen tickets remain on sale for this year’s event, which will also mark the official opening of the Hall of Fame museum, a 3,000-square foot facility added to the Phillips complex as part of recent innovations.

Morgado last fall claimed the silver medal at the District 22-5A cross country championships and, in doing so, led her team to the district title. She finished 11th at regional, one spot short of qualifying for state.

Last spring, she won district track titles in both the mile and the two-mile runs. Just this week, she returned to track competition after earning her third letter in soccer. Morgado will leave Pasadena High with 10 total letters, including four in cross country.

Perales earned football letters the past two seasons as a defensive back for the Texans. Last spring he earned a letter as a track quarter-miler.

Perales, who earned academic all-state honors, ranks No. 12 in his class. He is considering several college options, including Texas, Texas A&M and Southern California.

Morgado, ranked 25th in her class, is undecided about her college options.

Hall of Fame banquet festivities will include the induction of six new Hall of Fame members:

* Lanny White, an all-state halfback at Pasadena High in the late 1960s;

* Wes Hubert, a standout lineman for South Houston High who went on to earn All-Southwest Conference honors at the University of Texas in the late 1970s;

* John Holmes, a South Houston High grad who ranked as one of the nation’s top distance runners in the 1980s;

* Alicia Mills Polzin, a state high-jump champion for Dobie High in 1988 who also starred on the volleyball court for both the Lady Longhorns and Long Beach State.

* Gene McCarley, a basketball star at Pasadena High in the 1950s who went on to play at Baylor and then coach in the Pasadena ISD;

* And Weldon “Stoney” Phillips, the Pasadena ISD’s first director of athletics.

McCarley and Phillips will be honored posthumously.

Eleven of the 20 previous Hall of Fame inductees will also be on hand. The Hall of Fame will officially open at the conclusion of the banquet. Guests will be able to meet and get autographs from the various inductees at that time.

Tickets are $50 and can be purchased at the Pasadena ISD Athletics Ticket Office, 2906 Dabney in Pasadena, 713-740-0841.

The banquet begins at 6 p.m. on April 12.

Perales (34) breaks up a pass play against Pearland during the 2012 season.