DOBIE HALL OF HONOR: Inductees Praised for Positive Influence on Students

DOBIE HALL OF HONOR: Inductees Praised for Positive Influence on Students
Posted on 03/07/2015
This is the image for the news article titled DOBIE HALL OF HONOR: Inductees Praised for Positive Influence on Students8903
Federal Judge Reed O'Connor receives a helping hand from Dobie Principal Franklin Moses while installing his plaque on the wall of the Dobie Hall of Honor during ceremonies on Friday night.
8875Five esteemed Dobie alumni drew praise from school Principal Franklin Moses on Friday night for helping deliver a message to current Dobie students that high achievement is within their reach.

The five were among eight individuals inducted in the Dobie Hall of Honor during a ceremony held in the school auditorium.

“Thank you for providing another way in which we can convey to the 3,800 students here at Dobie to be the very best and always strive to be better,” Moses said.

Moses told attendees that he has often heard students proclaim their desire to be on the Hall of Honor wall someday.

“And you know what? They probably will,” he said, looking at the inductees. “ And each of you will have played a role in helping to influence the future greatness in our current students.”

Among the five Longhorn alumni inducted were three members of the Class of 1974: Leonard Cherry, president of a demolition and recycling company that bears his name; Randy McEachern, who quarterbacked the Texas Longhorns to the Southwest Conference title in 1977; and Kevin Sherrington, long-time sports writer for the Dallas Morning News and one of the nation’s most respected sports columnists.

Also inducted were Bob Mitchell, Class of 1973, president of the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership; and the Hon. Reed O’Connor, Class of 1983, a judge on the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas.

Reed addressed the attendees on behalf of all the inductees.

The inductee list also included one former faculty member, long-time history teacher Catherine Haney; and one community volunteer, Marie Flickinger, publisher of the South Belt-Ellington Leader, a staunch supporter of Dobie activities.

Haney, who passed away last October, was represented by family members, as was sixth Dobie alumni -- Kyle “Pete” Wells, Class of 1979, who was inducted among the Hall of Honor’s “Fallen Heroes,” a section reserved for military personnel and civilian first-responders who lost their lives in the line of duty.

Wells was one of 12 Air Force servicemen killed in a plane crash off the coast of the Philippines in 1981.

Former Dobie Principal Steve Jamail praised Dobie administrators and faculty for elevating school pride through the Hall of Honor initiative.

“Dobie Pride is a mark of excellence,” he said. “It’s a tradition of doing your best in every way, of going above and beyond. Dobie Pride is also an expectation, a winning attitude and a winning tradition. Our recipients tonight exemplify this spirit.”

The new inductees bring to 30 the number of alumni, former faculty members and community volunteers to be selected for the Hall of Honor since it was unveiled in 2013.

Haney joins two previous faculty Hall of Honor inductees: the late Scott Talton, who coached the Longhorns to 500 victories as head basketball coach over three decades, and Richard Golenko, who teamed up with Haney to coach Dobie to the national championship in Academic Decathlon in 1992.

Flickinger becomes the fourth community volunteer to be inducted in the Hall of Honor. Inducted previously were the Rev. Emory Gadd, associate pastor and longtime youth counselor at Sagemont Church; Gilbert Aguilar, a volunteer aide and mentor at the school; and Ron Williams, Class of 1971, CEO of Central Ace Hardware and a longtime supporter of Dobie activities.

Introduction of the Hall of Honor inductees: Kevin Sherrington, Reed O'Connor, Bob Mitchell, Randy McEachern, Leonard Cherry, Marie Flickinger, and the daughter and son of former faculty member Catherine Haney, Leigh Ann Choate and Roy Michael Haney.

Kevin Wells and Rodney Wells, brothers of fallen serviceman Pete Wells, look over his newly installed plaque in the Dobie Hall of Honor.

Steve Jamail, Jimmy Sawyer, Franklin Moses, Emory Gadd, Jerry Speer, Kenny Fernandez and Judge Reed O'Connor

Dobie Principal Franklin Moses invites inductees, including Leonard Cherry and Bob Mitchell (center and right), to unwrap their Hall of Honor plaque plates.

Inductees listen to Franklin Moses during the plaque installation ceremony: Leonard Cherry, Bob Mitchell, Randy McEachern, Kevin Sherrington, Reed O'Connor, Roy Haney and Marie Flickinger.

Roy Haney, widower of Catherine Haney, chats with one of her former students, inductee Kevin Sherrington.

Inductee Bob Mitchell with two of his sons and a grandson.

Randy McEachern anchors his plaque to the Hall of Honor wall.

South Belt-Ellington Leader publisher Marie Flickinger and family members, including her grandson (right), Kevin Lopez

(Left) Dr. DeeAnn Powell, deputy superintendent for the Pasadena ISD, welcomes the audience; Judge Reed O'Connor (right) delivers a response on behalf of the inductees.

Current Dobie Principal Franklin Moses (left) and former principal Steve Jamail address the audience.

Receiving their inductee awards: Leigh Ann Choate and Roy Michael Haney, the daughter and son of Catherine Haney, with Dobie Principal Franklin Moses.

South Belt Ellington-Leader publisher Marie Flickinger

Business and community leader Bob Mitchell, Class of 1973

Businessman Leonard Cherry, Class of 1974

Former Texas Longhorns quarterback Randy McEachern, Class of 1974

Sports journalist Kevin Sherrington, Class of 1974

Federal Judge Reed O'Connor, Class of 1983

Kevin and Rodney Wells, brothers of fallen serviceman Pete Wells, Class of 1979

Inductees join in the singing of the Dobie alma mater at the conclusion of the ceremony.