HALL OF FAME: Scott Talton, Dobie's 500-Game Winner, Among Six Selected for April Induction

HALL OF FAME: Scott Talton, Dobie's 500-Game Winner, Among Six Selected for April Induction
Posted on 02/06/2015
This is the image for the news article titled HALL OF FAME: Scott Talton, Dobie's 500-Game Winner, Among Six Selected for April Inductioncollage
The Pasadena ISD Athletics Hall of Fame's 2015 inductee class: (top) David Webb, Steve Oxley and Randy McEachern; and (bottom) Jeff Wylie, Kyla Hall Holas and Scott Talton.

side collageTwo University of Texas football standouts from the 1970s, a world-class high jumper, a college interception ace and the first softball player ever inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame make up the list of former Pasadena ISD athletes selected for induction next year in the district’s Athletics Hall of Fame.

Add to that list a sixth former athlete. Scott Talton played basketball at Pasadena High in the mid-1960s, but that’s a mere footnote to his accomplishments as basketball coach at Dobie for nearly three decades.

Talton, who will be inducted posthumously, won 500 games as the Longhorns’ coach from 1981 until his retirement in 2008 – a victory total believed to be unsurpassed by any coach in any sport in school district history.

Talton is one of three Pasadena High graduates picked for induction. He’ll join Eagle alums David Webb, Class of 1959, a multi-sport standout who played football on Pasadena’s state finalist team in 1958 and later for Lamar University; and Jeff Wylie, Class of 1987, a record-setting high-jumper at both Pasadena and Baylor.

Although never teammates, inductees Steve Oxley and Randy McEachern earned a combined five letters for the Texas Longhorns in the 1970s.

Oxley, a 1969 Rayburn graduate and an all-state lineman, played on three Southwest Conference championship teams for the Longhorns from 1970-72.

McEachern, who as a senior in 1973 quarterbacked Dobie to the school’s first district title, gained national attention as a junior in 1977 when he sprang from the bottom of the depth chart to lead the Longhorns to an upset of Oklahoma, the SWC championship and a near national championship.

Still, only a handful of Pasadena ISD athletes can match the college dominance of the youngest inductee – Kyla Hall Holas.

A 1990 South Houston High graduate, Holas earned All-American honors as a record-setting softball pitcher at Southwestern Louisiana (now Louisiana-Lafayette) in the early 1990s. Fifteen years ago, she was hired by the University of Houston to organize and coach that school’s program, now a fixture in NCAA playoff competition.

In 2011, Holas was inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, alongside such sports greats as Pete Maravich, Terry Bradshaw, Archie Manning, Lou Brock and Joe Brown.

The induction ceremony for the six new Hall of Fame members will take place on Saturday, April 11, 2015, at Phillips Field House.

Tickets for the event will go on sale early next year. The first three Hall of Fame induction banquets were sellouts.

The Class of 2015 inductees will join 26 other former Pasadena ISD athletes and coaches already enshrined in the Hall of Fame Museum at Phillips Field House. The museum, which opened last April, is open to the public on football game days this fall. The public is invited to view exhibits for two hours each game day, starting one hour before each kickoff.

Talton will become the fourth inductee selected for his accomplishments as a Pasadena ISD coach. Previous coaching inductees are Pasadena High basketball coach E.W. Thompson, Pasadena football coach Robert Barfield and Dobie track and cross country coach John Bryan.

Another former Pasadena ISD coach, Weldon “Stoney” Phillips, was inducted last year for his outstanding record as the district’s first director of athletics.

Webb, who led the NAIA in interceptions while playing for bowl-bound Lamar in 1961, also made his mark as a Pasadena ISD coach. Webb coached baseball at Pasadena High for 14 seasons and guided the Eagles to the state finals in 1968.

Career summaries of the six new inductees follow.




ox new