Librarians Honored for Bluebonnet Participation

Librarians Honored for Bluebonnet Participation
Posted on 02/23/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Librarians Honored for Bluebonnet Participation


Front Row left to right: Kathy Monford – South Houston Elementary, Amanda Davis – Laura Bush Elementary, Jackie McNabb – Turner Elementary, Amanda Maslonka – Freeman Elementary, Gladys Trevino – Garfield Elementary and Amanda Ring – Marshall Kendrick Middle.

Second Row: Dolores Perez – Matthys Elementary, Joy Eddleman – McMasters Elementary, Jamie Garcia – Fisher Elementary, Lisa Ford Mae Smythe Elementary, Cindy Walker- Moore Elementary, Brenda Aguilar – South Shaver Elementary, Stephanie Peterson – Teague Elementary, Belinda Hernandez – Morales Elementary, Phyllis Salinas – Richey Elementary, Bonnie Alexander – Nelda Sullivan Middle, Julie Scott – Young Elementary and Debra Yocum –Melillo Middle.

Back Row:  Karin Jones – Red Bluff Elementary, Allison Sutton – South Belt Elementary, Raquel Garza – Thomas Hancock Elementary, Karissa Brisbin  – Schneider Middle, Lauren Nalepa – Stuchbery Elementary, Amanda Butcher – Pearl Hall Elementary, Cynthia Rosenbaum – Kruse Elementary, Christine Roberts – Frazier Elementary, Laura Davis – L. F. Smith Elementary, Kerry-Ann Thompson – Jessup Elementary and Norma Rodriguez-Garcia – Williams Elementary.

 Amanda DavisBush Elementary Learning Resource Specialist Amanda Davis accepts her award from Superintendent Dr. DeeAnn Powell for garnering 100 percent student participation in the Bluebonnet Reading Program.

The Pasadena ISD Office of Libraries and Instructional Materials awarded trophies to 31 campus librarians for achieving a high level of student participation in the Texas Bluebonnet Reading Program.

The Bluebonnet Program encourages students to read more, explore new books across various genres and identify their favorite books.

Through the statewide program 9,468 Pasadena ISD students in grades 3-6 voted for at least five of their favorite Bluebonnet titles using the district’s online voting platform. The votes were submitted to the Texas Library Association and added to the statewide count to determine the Texas Bluebonnet Award winning books.

Officials were proud of the district’s overall participation in the reading program with an increase of 58 percent over the number voting in 2013-2014.

This year, Libraries and Instructional Materials presented awards in three categories; gold, silver and bronze. Gold represents over 90 percent campus participation, Silver represents over 80 percent campus participation and Bronze represents over 70 percent campus participation.

The winning Bluebonnet titles this year are The Chicken Squad, by Doreen Cronin, first place; A Fine Dessert by Emily Jenkins, second place; and Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson, third place.

The winning campuses are:

Gold Level

  • Freeman Elementary
  • Garfield Elementary
  • Bush Elementary
  • South Houston Elementary
  • South Shaver Elementary
  • Williams Elementary
  • Sullivan Middle School
  • Turner Elementary
  • Frazier Elementary
  • Jessup Elementary
  • Mae Smythe Elementary
  • Meador Elementary
  • Melillo Middle School
  • Young Elementary
  • Teague Elementary
  • South Belt Elementary
  • Stuchbery Elementary
  • Lomax Middle School
  • Matthys Elementary
  • Richey Elementary
  • Moore Elementary
  • Kendrick Middle School

Silver Level

  • Kruse Elementary
  • McMasters Elementary
  • Fisher Elementary
  • Red Bluff Elementary
  • Hancock Elementary School
  • L F Smith Elementary

Bronze Level

  • Morales Elementary
  • Schneider Middle School
  • Pearl Hall Elementary