SRHS now accepting nominations for Rayburn Hall of Honor

SRHS now accepting nominations for Rayburn Hall of Honor
Posted on 10/02/2017
SRHS now accepting nominations for Rayburn Hall of Honor

Sam Rayburn High School now accepting nominations for Alumni Hall of Honor

Sam Rayburn High School is now accepting nominations through December 1, 2017 for the Alumni Hall of Honor (Click here to download the form).

Nominees will be considered if they meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • SRHS graduates who have not graduated from the school within 15 years prior to their selection. (Example: A person selected in 2015 must have graduated in 2000 or earlier)
  • All past and present faculty, administrative personnel and employees of Rayburn who meet the following conditions:
    • Have taught/worked at Rayburn for 15 years or more and be retired from the field of public education
    • Have taught/worked at Rayburn for less than 15 years and is at least five years removed from full-time teaching/employment in the field of education.
  • All worthy benefactors of time, talent and treasure to SRHS.

Qualification Criteria

  • Holds a place of considerable distinction in a career field.
  • Has attained a stature of such high achievement so as to have garnered considerable acclaim – either locally, regionally or nationally for those achievements.
  • Has received high educational honors or achievements.
  • Has accomplished a high level of achievement and recognition in athletics or fine arts after attending Sam Rayburn High School.
  • Has garnered high professional honors or achievements.
  • Has received civic, governmental or community honors or achievements.
  • Has been recognized for a high level of service to and dedication of time, talent, and treasure to Sam Rayburn High School.
  • Has compiled a record of exceptional service to Sam Rayburn High School and has contributed in a substantial way to the educational enrichment of students at Sam Rayburn High School.

The Fallen

As part of the Alumni Hall of Honor, the committee shall maintain a section to honor former Sam Rayburn High School students who lost their lives while serving in the military or in the line of duty as a first-responder (such as police, fire and other emergency personnel.)

Graduation shall not be a prerequisite for inclusion in “The Fallen.” However, inclusion requires that the former student attended no other high school after leaving Rayburn. Should any member of the committee become aware of the need to add a former student to “The Fallen,” the committee shall convene at the earliest possible date to make arrangements to have the former student included immediately in the Hall of Honor display.

The former student will be publically memorialized during the annual induction ceremony for Hall of Honor alumni.

Committee Members

The committee chairman, named by the principal, shall serve a two-year term. The principal and committee chairman appoint nine members to serve a two-year term on the committee. The committee must select at least five members, but no more than 12 new inductees for the Hall of Honor each year.

Nomination Process

Nominations are made annually on a schedule to be established by the Hall of Fame Committee.

  • Nominees may be solicited through any means affiliated with Rayburn, including but not limited to direct mail, the school website and e-mail.
  • All nominations shall be directed to the Hall of Honor Committee, either directly or through Robert Stock ( or Noel Boggs (, the Rayburn’s website or the chairman of the committee.
  • All nominations must be in writing and must be submitted with three letters of support.
  • Nominations may be made posthumously.
  • If a nominee is not elected to the Hall of Honor for a particular year, the nominee may be considered for up to two additional years as long as at least three additional letters of support are submitted for each additional year of consideration.
  • The nominations and nominee identities will be held in confidence by the Hall of Honor Committee.

The criteria is non-exclusive. Additional criteria may be considered on a case-by-case basis.

The school will host a special recognition ceremony for the 2018 honorees on April 7.