Pasadena ISD announces 2021 Teachers of the Year

Pasadena ISD announces 2021 Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/24/2021
Pasadena ISD announces 2021 Teachers of the YearPasadena ISD recently hosted the district’s Teacher of the Year celebration. 

The annual awards luncheon, hosted by Superintendent of Schools Dr. DeeAnn Powell, the Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees and campus development associate superintendents, celebrates educators in the district who are uniquely dedicated to excellence in their profession.

Sonia Bonavita, a fifth-grade Science teacher at Morris Middle School was chosen as the Elementary Teacher of the Year and Fortuni Rosales, an ESL teacher at  South Houston Intermediate was chosen as the Secondary Teacher of the Year. 

“She hopes to change the world through simple acts of kindness. Whether it’s lesson planning, giving advice or training teachers, [Fortuni Rosales] plays a huge role in the success of our students,” wrote Jessica Swenson, principal of South Houston Intermediate. 

This year’s event was held in person, marking the first time that educators and administrators were able to gather for the celebration since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Bayway Auto Group and Gulf Coast Educators Federal Credit Union, this year’s event sponsors, were in attendance at the event. GCEFCU provided each of the winners with gift baskets and Bayway Auto Group announced that they will provide Teachers of the Year winners, Bonavita and Rosales, with a vehicle for their personal use throughout the summer. 

Teachers of the Year Bonavita and Rosales will represent Pasadena ISD as they advance to the Region IV competition later in the year. 

The 2021 Pasadena ISD Teachers of the Year are:

-New Elementary Teacher of the Year: Marcella Flick, Williams Elementary.

-New Middle School Teacher of the Year: Rebecca Long, Marshall Kendrick Middle School. 

-New Intermediate Teacher of the Year: Patricia Rocha, Park View Intermediate. 

-New High School Teacher of the Year: Jordyn White, South Houston High School. 

-Elementary Teacher of the Year:  Sonia Bonavita, Morris Middle School.

-Secondary Teacher of the Year: Fortuni Rosales, South Houston Intermediate.