Pasadena ISD helped choose Bluebonnet winner

Pasadena ISD schools helped choose the Texas Bluebonnet Award winner
Posted on 02/13/2020
This is the image for the news article titled Pasadena ISD schools helped choose the Texas Bluebonnet Award winnerStory by:  Maria Mata

The Pasadena ISD Office of Libraries and Instructional Materials awarded trophies to 36 schools in the district for achieving a high level of student participation in the Texas Bluebonnet reading program.

The Bluebonnet program encourages students to read more and explore new books across various genres.

Through the statewide program, students in grades 3-6 read and voted for at least five of their favorite Bluebonnet titles, through their “Read 5 Then Decide” program, offered on the district’s online voting platform. The votes were submitted to the Texas Library Association (TLA) and added to the statewide count to determine the Bluebonnet award-winning book and author.

This year, PISD students selected El Chupracabras, written by Adam Rubin and illustrated by Crash McCreery, as their favorite. The Texas Bluebonnet Award winning book was announced this week and PISD students did indeed select the winning title.  The Texas Bluebonnet Award will be presented to the book author at the Texas Bluebonnet Award Luncheon held during the TLA Annual Conference in the spring.


Here is a list of the Pasadena ISD campuses that were awarded trophies:

Bronze – at least 70% of eligible students voting

De Zavala Middle School Terra Janak
Genoa Elementary Lisa Grissinger
Mae Smythe Elementary Lisa Ford
Jensen Elementary Trina Hernandez
Richey Elementary Melissa Foreman
Rick Schneider Middle School Ashlee Williams

Silver - at least 90% of eligible students voting

Roberts Middle School Ashton Ramella
Burnett Elementary Cassie Moon
Carter Lomax Middle School Barbara Balke
Williams Elementary Norma Rodriguez-Garcia
Sparks Elementary Alicia Burge 
Young Elementary Julie Scott
Bailey Elementary Donna Huemmme
Pomeroy Elementary Dileyda Martinez
South Belt Elementary Allison Sutton
Atkinson Elementary Tiffany Aldridge
Thomas Hancock Elementary Raquel Garza
Stuchbery Elementary Lauren Nalepa 
South Houston Elementary Lori Tucker
Fisher Elementary Breanna Ackerman
Meador Elementary Karen Barton
Golden Acres Elementary Ana Arredondo
Kruse Elementary Cynthia Rosenbaum
Frazier Elementary Lupe Palacios

Gold - 100% of eligible students voting

Freeman Elementary Amanda Maslonka
Gardens Elementary Vilma Betancourt
Garfield Elementary Gladys Trevino
Jessup Elementary Kerry-Ann Thompson
Laura Welch Bush Elementary Rubi Contreras
Matthys Elementary Donna Kocian
McMasters Elementary Joy Eddleman
Pearl Hall Elementary Amanda Butcher
Red Bluff Elementary Karin Jones
South Shaver Elementary Jessica Buford
Teague Elementary Stephanie Peterson
Turner Elementary Jackie McNabb